Home: News : Lemont’s Peyton Jay, Emily Krivograd earn medals at IHSA Journalism State Finals

Lemont’s Peyton Jay, Emily Krivograd earn medals at IHSA Journalism State Finals


Seniors Peyton Jay (left) and Emily Krivograd each earned their first state medals at the 2018 IHSA Journalism State Finals.

For only the third time in school history, Lemont High School has earned multiple medals in journalism state finals competition in the same year. Seniors Emily Krivograd and Peyton Jay each medaled in their categories at the 2018 IHSA Journalism State Finals, which were contested on the campus of Eastern Illinois University on April 27. Krivograd was third in Feature Writing, while Jay was fifth in Editorial Writing.

Lemont previously had multiple state medalists in 2012 and 2016. In 2012, Charmaine Balisalisa ‘12 won the state title in Info Graphics and Madeleine George ‘12 was fourth in Feature Photography. In 2016, Heather Miller ‘17 became the first Lemont student to earn multiple state medals in the same year when she won the state title in Editorial Writing and placed sixth in Advertising.

In IHSA Sectional competition, Jay placed third in Editorial Writing and Krivograd was third in Feature Writing. They were part of a Lemont contingent that combined for five top-six finishes at the IHSA Naperville Central Sectional on April 21. This marked the ninth straight season that Lemont advanced multiple students to the state finals.

Lemont’s Journalism advisor is Susan Szafranski, and its head Yearbook sponsor is Cara Forde.

The IHSA Journalism State Finals includes contests in 17 newspaper- and yearbook related categories, with students being asked to meet a different challenge in each competition. The top three finishers in each category from seven IHSA Sectionals advance to compete at the IHSA State Finals.

IHSA Journalism Web site

Lemont has advanced qualifiers to the IHSA Journalism State Finals ten consecutive years, which included a school-record seven qualifiers in 2014. Balisalisa and Miller are the only state champions in the program’s history. David Timm ‘10 (2010; 4th - Headline Writing), Laura Harding ‘13 (2013; 3rd - Editorial Writing), Kristin Washagan ‘15 (2014; 5th - Feature Writing) and Reanna Comiso ‘16 (2016; 4th - Feature Writing) also have placed in their categories in state finals competition.

For more information, contact Director of School and Community Relations Tony Hamilton at (630) 243-3280.
Site Map | Privacy Policy | Technology Use Policy | Contact Us

© 2008 Lemont High School | 800 Porter Street • Lemont, IL 60439 | Phone: (630) 257-5838 Fax: (630) 243-0310