Home: News : Seven National AP Scholars headline Lemont’s record-breaking effort

Seven National AP Scholars headline Lemont’s record-breaking effort


Lemont High School's record seven National AP Scholars include recent graduates (clockwise, from top left) Lily Goodman, Reece Graham, Martynas Juskelis, Alexander Paulius, Arjun Reddigari, Joshua Reitz and Angelina Wilton.

A school-record seven Lemont High School students earned the top honor awarded by the College Board for performance on the college-level Advanced Placement exams. Recent graduates Lily Goodman ‘18, Reece Graham ‘18, Martynas Juskelis ‘18, Alexander Paulius ‘18, Arjun Reddigari ‘18, Joshua Reitz ‘18 and Angelina Wilton ‘18 all have been cited with National AP Scholar accolades.

Lemont High School established several school records in terms of recognition from the College Board. Lemont saw 138 students overall earn AP Scholar Award honors from the College Board in 2018, eclipsing the previous school record of 102 honorees in 2016. In addition to its record seven National AP Scholars, the school also set single-year standards for students earning AP Scholar honors (68) and AP Scholar with Honor accolades (34).

The College Board’s AP Program offers students the opportunity to take challenging college-level courses while still enrolled in high school, allowing them to receive college credit, advanced placement at the college level, or both based on their performance on the AP exams. The College Board recognizes several levels of achievement based on students’ performance on the AP exams throughout their high school careers.

A record 898 AP exams were administered to Lemont High School students in 2018, and 68.3 percent of those exams resulted in scores of 3 or better. The school’s highest success rates, which is defined as the percentage of students scoring 3 or better, were in AP U.S. Government & Politics (96.4 percent), AP Spanish Language & Culture (94.7 percent), AP World History (84.0 percent), AP Biology (83.3 percent) and AP Macroeconomics (81.7 percent).

Lemont had a record 507 students take at least one AP exam in 2018, and 69.4 percent of those students recorded at least one score of 3 or better on an AP exam.

In order to be named a National AP Scholar, students must earn an average score of 4.00 on all AP exams taken, and scores of 4 or higher on eight or more of the exams they took. The school’s first two-time National AP Scholar, Juskelis averaged 4.31 on 13 exams and scored a 5 on five exams. Reitz earned a score of 5 on all eight of his exams for a perfect average of 5.00. Reddigari scored a 5 on eight of his nine exams and recorded an overall average of 4.89. Graham averaged 4.36 on his 11 exams, earning a 5 on six exams. Wilton earned a 5 on half of her 10 exams and averaged 4.30 overall. Paulius earned a 5 on five of 13 exams and averaged 4.08 overall, while Goodman averaged 4.00 on 10 exams.

Lemont’s seven National AP Scholars in 2018 nearly matches the school’s eight National AP Scholars prior to this year. Previous honorees had included Juskelis, Mira Antonopoulos ‘17, Taylor Campos ‘16, Misbah Chagpar ‘16, Michael Cottrell ‘17, Kim Gannon ‘13, Marius Mereckis ‘17 and James Sliwa ‘17. In 2017, Juskelis became the first Lemont student to earn the honor prior to graduating from high school.

A total of 29 students - including 24 Class of 2018 graduates and five current seniors - qualified for the AP Scholar with Distinction Award by earning an average score of at least 3.5 on all AP Exams taken, and scores of 3 or higher on five or more of the exams they took. The graduates include Ashley Belsan, Nathaniel Blanco, Brianna Carlson, Andres De La Vega, Beata Drozda, Anna Ford, Alexandra Galica, Trevor Graham, Natalie Hartl, Sean Haughey, Laura Hunter, Kara Kirkus, Jana Kay Lacanlale, Andrew Licata, Brandon Mayer, Zachary McFarland, Lily Mussallem, Colin Nicholson, Emma Potts, Saher Rashid, Emily Stoch, Aaron Swenson, Easton Tally and Kendrick Tran. Current senior honorees include Brett Abbott, Kayla Baskiewicz, Kirsten Kash, Hannah Sliwa and Lucas Zaczek.

A school-record 34 individuals - 16 graduates and 17 current seniors and one former student - qualified for the AP Scholar with Honor Award by earning an average score of at least 3.25 on all AP Exams taken, and scores of 3 or higher on four or more of the exams they took. Those honorees included graduates Christine Cruz, Melissa Danilov, Benjamin Dirst, Danielius Garmus, Mitchell Gembara, Miguel Hernandez, Tyler Hill, Danielle Ingolia, Laura Juzenas, Lauren Pengiel, Justin Pioquinto, Celine Ratulowski, Katherine Santucci, Lindsay Selfridge, Isabel Silvar and Julie Stanwyck; current seniors Emily Brier, Lonnie Camer, Andrew Deuschle, Anna Goranski, Klaudia Goryl, Ryan Hussey, Peyton Jeffress, Natalie Lassak, Nathan Pawlak, Marissa Pezdek, Janet Quiroz, Luke Schaefer, Rasa Siniakovas, Pawel Skotnicki, Emily Stood, Joseph Tomecki and Stephanie Valle; and former student Jordan White.

A total of 68 students - including 28 current seniors and four current juniors - qualified for the AP Scholar Award by completing three or more AP Exams with scores of 3 or higher. Included among those honorees are graduates Emma Bozue, Carson Brandt, Evelyn Conway, Paul Crandall, Ryan Freitag, Nick Groselak, Sam Groth, Ian Hartl, Makayla Hendry, Michelle Hryc, Shannon Irwin, Gabriela Kalata, Sarah Knoepfle, Alexandra Knutte, Caden Korosec, Anthony Kostrubala, Damian Kowalczyk, Hanna Lichacz, Courtney McAuliffe, Paul O’Leary, Chad Rosenblum, Leticia Salazar, Jacey Schickel, Claudia Sikora, Alexander Simadas, Konrad Skotnicki, Danielle Stecyna, Joseph Storti, Olivia Styrczula, Avyay Suri, Christina Tomala, Sarah Trejo, Nicholas Tsambikou, Quinn Wolski, Matthew Zima and Carolyn Zukowski. Current seniors Madeleine Amberg, Samantha Andruszkiewicz, John Arundel, Abbigail Bendle, Joseph Cantone, Zachary Czub, Matthew Gasienica, Michael Harbut, Katherine Knutte, Melanie LeBeck, Emma Lindstrom, Marissa Loisi, Arielle Lyon, James Maloney, Clare Mielczarek, Anna Mietus, Anna Musarevski, Natalie Palarz, Gavin Pawell, Gregory Perini, Jennifer Quiroz, Lukas Rekasius, Katrina Retzke, Audrey Schlueter, Athanasia Spatharakis, Shedda Suleiman, Maria Tenuta and Arijus Trakymas also were cited, as were current juniors Aubrey Molitor, Michael Regan, Taylor Shimkus and Kaytlin Timbers.

Of the 138 honorees, 34 were recognized by the College Board for the second or third time in their careers.

The College Board is a not-for-profit membership organization whose mission is to connect students to college success and opportunity. It offers more than 30 AP Exams, consisting of multiple-choice and free-response questions, in a wide variety of subject areas.

Lemont High School currently offers 18 AP courses ­– AP Biology, AP Calculus BC, AP Chemistry, AP English Language & Composition, AP English Literature & Composition, AP Environmental Science, AP Human Geography, AP Macroeconomics, AP Microeconomics, AP Music Theory, AP Physics I, AP Physics II, AP Psychology, AP Spanish Language & Composition, AP Statistics, AP U.S. Government & Politics, AP U.S. History and AP World History.

For more information, contact Director of School and Community Relations Tony Hamilton at (630) 243-3280.

Site Map | Privacy Policy | Technology Use Policy | Contact Us

© 2008 Lemont High School | 800 Porter Street • Lemont, IL 60439 | Phone: (630) 257-5838 Fax: (630) 243-0310