Schuit, Wrublik earn first medals at 2023 IHSA Class 2A Wrestling State Finals

Coach Erik Murry with Sammy Schuit (left) and Nathan Wrublik

Head coach Erik Murry’s Lemont High School wrestling program boasted seven first-time state qualifiers this season and added more names to the program’s list of state medalists. At the 2023 IHSA Class 2A Wrestling Individual State Finals, which were contested from February 16-18 at the State Farm Center on the campus of the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, seniors Sammy Schuit (138 pounds) and Nathan Wrublik (195 pounds) each earned their first state medals. Lemont’s state finals contingent also included senior Johnny O’Connor (145 pounds), juniors Carter Mikolajczak (126 pounds), Noah O’Connor (152 pounds) and Alex Pasquale (285 pounds), and freshman Cory Zator (113 pounds).

Schuit (34-10) placed fourth at 138 pounds, winning four of six matches. After dropping his opener, he battled back to win four straight contests before coming up short in the third place match. Schuit was a member of the 2020 IHSA Class 2A Dual Team State Championship squad.

Wrublik (30-7) placed fifth at 195 pounds, earning wins in four of six contests. He captured his opening match and two contests in the consolation bracket before triumphing in the fifth place match.

Johnny O’Connor (43-7) won one of three contests at 145 pounds, capturing his opening round match, while Mikolajczak (40-11) fell short in two contests at 126 pounds. Noah O’Connor (37-12) and Pasquale (36-10) won one of three contests at 152 pounds and 285 respectively, with each triumphing in his opener. Zator (39-8) split four matches at 113 pounds, winning his opener as well as one consolation round match.

Lemont finished with a 20-12 record in dual meets, which included a 12-1 mark in South Suburban Conference matches. Lemont was the runner-up at the SSC Meet and captured the IHSA Hinsdale South Regional.

Johnny O’Connor won a sectional title, while Noah O’Connor, Pasquale, Schuit, Wrublik and Zator all were sectional runners-up and Mikolajczak placed third. All seven won IHSA Regional titles this season. Mikolajczak, Johnny O’Connor, Noah O’Connor, Schuit, Wrublik and Zator all won SSC crowns, while Pasquale was an SSC runner-up.

Lemont set a program with seven state medals at the 2012 IHSA Class 2A State Finals, and had a school record three state champions at the 2020 IHSA Class 2A State Finals.

Prior to this season, Lemont’s state medalists included Egan Berta (2nd, 145-2016; 3rd, 145-2017), Paul Burke (4th, 119-1984), Angel Cabral (1st, 285-2009; 1st, 285-2010), Brian Diaz (3rd, 167-1984), Marvin Drummond (4th, 132-1975), Dave Festin (2nd, 132-1974), Mike Freemantle (4th, 140-1990), Chris Giatras (5th, 182-2012; 3rd, 182-2013), Apollo Gothard (5th, 195-2018; 2nd, 220-2019; 1st, 220-2020), Jamal Hamdan (4th, Hwt.-1986), Jehad Hamdan (2nd, 167-1988), Ryan Hennebry (5th, 125-2000), Mo Jarad (1st, 285-2020) Jake Kaminsky (2nd, 152-2012), Eric Kirkman (2nd, 170-2012), Mark Kirkman (4th, 160-2012), Moe Khalil (5th, 182-2022), Gordon Kickels (4th, 189-2007; 5th, 189-2008), Grant LaDuke (6th, 132-2018; 3rd, 145-2019; 2nd 152-2020), Jake Latanski (4th, 103-2010; 5th, 126-2012), Matt Leibforth (3rd, 135-2009; 1st, 135-2010), Joe Long (6th, 215-2005), Andrew Mason (4th, 103-2009), Glenn Malecki (4th, 132-2012), Derek Nagel (2nd, 160-2011), Drew Nash (5th, 126-2018; 1st, 126-2020), Kyle Schickel (2nd, 106-2017; 2nd, 120-2018; 2nd, 138-2019; 2nd, 145-2020), Evan Schiffman (4th, 106-2019), Alex Tagler (4th, 170-2022) and John Tomala (3rd, 195-2012).